20 April 2011

Preservation Week April 24-30, 2011

Here's a chance to observe Preservation Week 2011 by attending a free webinar presented by the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS).

ALCTS webinar: Preserving Your Personal Digital Memories Date: Thursday, April 28, 2011 All webinars are one hour in length and begin at: 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern Time

Description: Digital photos, electronic documents, and other new media are fragile and require special care to keep them useable. But preserving digital information is a new concept that most people have little experience with. As new technologies appear for creating and saving our personal digital information, older ones become obsolete, making it difficult to access older content. Learn about the nature of the problem and hear about some simple, practical tips and tools to help you keep your digital memories safe.

Presenter: Bill LeFurgy, Digital Initiatives Manager, has worked for the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program at the Library of Congress since June 2002. He leads the NDIIPP Communications Team, which interacts with a broad range of people interested in preserving access to digital information. In former lives, LeFurgy dealt with electronic records at the National Archives and Records Administration and served as Baltimore City Archivist and Records Management Officer. While he has memories of punch cards, monochrome monitors, and 30-pound portable computers, he is also an enthusiastic creator and consumer of social media. He has a BA degree in History from McGill University, as well as an MLS and MA in History from the University of Maryland.

PLEASE NOTE: This is not an SCGS-sponsored webinar and it will not be archived on the SCGS website.


  1. I don't see a place to sign up for this webinar.

  2. To register, visit the GoToWebinar site: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/550844641