26 April 2012

GENEii Writing Contest Winners Announced

Congratulations to the winners of the 2011 GENEii Family History Writers Contest, sponsored by the Southern California Genealogical Society. Judges reported that the entries were exceptional and the competition was very close.

Winners of the two categories will be recognized on Thursday, June 7, during the Family History Writers Conference luncheon in Burbank, California, which will be held in conjunction with the Southern California Genealogy Jamboree.

Category 1
Family history or local history articles of 1,000-2,000 words in length, published or unpublished.
Awards: 1st Place, $200; 2nd Place, $100; 3rd Place, $50.

1st Place - Douglas Fricke: Halfway Round the World
2nd Place - Emily Pritchard Cary: Crossing the Borders
3rd Place - Willie Wilburn Walker: The Blue Moon Cafe' & A Walk in the Southern Mountains
Finalist - Judy R. Cook: Aunt Pearl, We Did It
Finalist - Diane Altona: What Made Jacob Tick & Who is Elizabeth Douglas?
Honorable Mention - Lynda Wilson Barlow: Mrs. Butterfield's Canteloupe Patch
Honorable Mention - Nancy Walters Lauer: Ella's Letter

Category 2
Family history or local history articles of 1,000 words or less, published or unpublished. Awards: 1st Place, $100; 2nd Place, $50; 3rd Place, $25.

First Place - Raymonde Motil: New Year's Day 1919 & The Funeral
Second Place - Pauline Abbott: The Parting of the Ways & Divine Interventions
Third Place - Denise Spurlock: The Watchmaker
Finalist - Tara McClellan McAndrew: Civil War Soldiers' Christmases
Honorable Mention - Mary E. Nelson: The Telephone

Congratulations to everyone who participated in the 13th Annual GENEii Family History Writers Contest.


  1. Yeah.......I was waiting for this announcement and hopefully impressed through knowing 1st place taken by Douglas Fricke. Good job. :)

  2. Many thanks to the organizers of the 2011 GENEii SCGS Family History Writing Contest and especially to the judges who performed the difficult task of selecting winners from all the entries.

    Doug Fricke, Category One Winner.